Network & Individual Group Settings

To access the main settings page, simply click the gray (---) icon. 

To find the group settings page for each group, click the group from the left-hand sidebar and then click the gray "cogwheel" icon in the top right-hand corner. You can also do this for the Everyone group to access the main settings page as well. 

Here is a brief guide that goes over each field of the Group Settings page. The fields are numbered in the screenshot below and you'll find coordinating information for that field below the screenshot.

1. Group Name

This is the name that will appear in the list of groups on the left-hand side of your main Flocknote page for your church or organization. This name will also appear as the 'From' address when you send emails. 

2. Short Name

This is the shortened name of your group. This shortened name is used for your Group URL. You can have up to 16 characters in your shortened name, but it will not allow for spaces. Please note that this field will say 'URL' instead of 'short name' for the Everyone group. 

3. Type

There are 3 privacy types for a Group -- open, closed, and hidden. Open groups and their notes are visible to anyone and anyone can join them. The names of Closed groups are visible to all members during signup or on the left-hand sidebar if they log into Flocknote, but people must request to join. Only after an admin approves them will they be able to see the notes inside of the group. Hidden groups are only visible to those who are already a part of the group or by Super Admins. Regular members cannot see or join hidden groups on their own. 

4. Welcome Email Message

The Welcome Email Message is a short message that is automatically emailed out to any new subscribers to your particular group. By default, the Welcome Message is off for each group and will be displayed with our greyed-out sample text (as pictured in the screenshot above). To turn on a Welcome Email for your group, simply click into this text box to type your message, then click the green Save button at the bottom of the window.

5. Welcome Email Message Replies

Designate which Group Admin will receive the replies your members send in response to the automatic Welcome Message. 

6. Connecting with Facebook or Twitter

If you have a Facebook Page and/or a Twitter account for your church or organization, you can connect it to Flocknote. Once connected, when you go to write a note, you'll also have the option to post the note out to your Facebook Page or Twitter account. Clicking the 'Connect' button will walk you through logging in to your Facebook or Twitter account and allowing access to Flocknote.

7. Embeddable Sign Up Code

Clicking this button will display a little snippet of HTML that you can put on your website to embed a registration form for Flocknote. That way people can get connected to your entire network or an individual group without ever having to leave your website! Please note that this will not appear for hidden groups. 

8. Group URL

Your Group URL, which features your group Short Name, will take you directly to the group you are working with if you are already logged in to Flocknote. You can share this link as a way to allow others to join this specific group (if the group is Open or Closed, not hidden.)

9. RSS Feeds

This RSS feed will contain a list of your recently published notes for this group. You can then use the RSS Feed link to have your website auto-update using your group's RSS feed. It's another great way for people to view your important messages! Please note that this will not appear for closed or hidden groups. 

10. Delete Your Group

The trash can option allows you to delete a Group. This will delete any notes that were in the Group as well as removing the subscribers that were part of the Group. Wield this power wisely.

Only visible in the Main Settings (or Group Settings for the Everyone Group:)

The Main Settings page is only accessible to Super Admins.

11. Protection from Bots

Clicking to check this box will turn on an added level of protection aimed at preventing spam bots from creating users on your network. There will be an added step for your members when the Signup that includes a Recaptcha (for example, a series of images with the instructions to click all of the images that contain stoplights.) By default this box is unchecked.

12. Enable GIFS

By default, this box is checked to include an option to search for and insert a GIF when adding an image to an email. Unchecking this box will remove the GIF option from the note composer for any Admin composing a note on your network.

13. Allow household members to add users to their household

This option is only visible on networks that have a Flocknote People subscription. When this box is checked, members in your network can add members to their own household (for example, a spouse, children, etc.) This would create new member profiles for these household members, or attach existing members to their household if the contact information given for the member being added matched an existing member in the network. For those with Flocknote People this box is checked by default. 

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.