Sending a Note to Individual Members

This how-to guide is applicable for Super Admins and Group Admins. Note Senders cannot see the names of people within their groups so they also cannot send direct messages to individual members. To learn more about admin privileges, check out the article at the bottom of the page.

How do I send a note to an individual person? 

  • Log in to Flocknote and select a group you'd like to send a note to from the left-hand side of the page, followed by either the 'envelope' icon to send an email or the 'cell phone' icon to send a text. 

  • Once the composer opens, click the round 'plus' icon to the left of the group name in the 'To' field. A drop-down menu will appear with a list of other available groups and a Person option to search for individual members. Simply click to select the Person option and start typing to search for the desired member. Once they appear, click their name and they will be added to the To field. To remove a member, simply hover over their name and select the X icon that will appear
  • Once you've selected all of the members you'd like to send a note to, select the X icon to close the drop-down menu.

Please note: If you are a Super Admin, the "from" name for the note will default to the name of your network (which is typically your church name). If you are a Group Admin or Note Sender the from name will default to your own name. 

How can I tell how many people will receive my note? 

When you are composing your note, simply select the Delivery button in the bottom toolbar. As you add and remove groups the Delivery section will update to include the unique number of recipients along with how the message will be delivered to them.

If someone is already a member of the group and I choose to also send the message to them individually while composing the same note, will they get the message multiple times? 

No, they will only receive the message one time regardless if they are added as an individual recipient and also part of the group you are composing your note to.

How do I view a note that I sent to individual members after I send it? 

After you send your note it will be visible on the Dashboard and the My Notes page. If you also sent the note to a group, the note will be visible inside of the group as well.

When I send a text message to an individual member, which phone number will it come from? 

The "from" numbers in Flocknote are unique to the group. They do not change for each message; your members can save the number to their contacts lists (under the name of the group) so they can easily recognize the group sending the message going forward. 

However, when you send a direct text message to an individual, the "from" number will be unique to the admin sending the note. For example, if Larry (an admin) sends a message to Susan (a regular member), Susan can expect direct messages from Larry to be from the same number each time. If Betsy (another admin) sends Susan a message, that will be from a different number than Larry's messages to Susan.

What happens when I add someone as an individual recipient to a note and they unsubscribe?

If someone unsubscribes by replying STOP to your text, or by clicking the unsubscribe link at the bottom of an email, their notification preference allowing people to send them notes individually will be turned off. You will still be able to add this member as an individual recipient to a note, but the note will only appear in their My Notes section when they log in to Flocknote and it will not be pushed out to them via email or text.  

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.